14 replies to this topic

#1 Madman7

• Pip
  • Survivor
  • Survivor
  • 13 posts

Posted 20 April 2013 - 08:45 AM

Hi all,

I am new to MWO and liking it alot. I did some research on a good started Mech for a noob and the Cataphract 2x was a good place to start.

I am finally starting to figure out the loadout tab... and trying to maximize my weapon loadout.

I feel that the Cataphact gets cored out alot... I use terrain the best I can and try not to expose my center.

I watched one vid where the guy said he uses it as a support mech, so I tried that. I like playing back some and engaging from a distance. my current loadout is.

1x Ultra AC5
1x ER PPC
2x Streakers (For lights/close encounters)

Im at like 1.25 on heat ... but my firepower is only 21... That I do not understand, its lower then my Jenner with 2 Med lasers.

I thought the Ultra AC5 and ER PPC would be my main damage dealers at range...

am I doing something wrong... 21 Firepower just seems to low.

Thanks!!

#2 XSerjo

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 386 posts

Posted 20 April 2013 - 08:50 AM

View PostMadman7, on 20 April 2013 - 08:45 AM, said:

Hi all,
1x Ultra AC5
1x ER PPC
2x Streakers (For lights/close encounters)

Im at like 1.25 on heat ... but my firepower is only 21... That I do not understand, its lower then my Jenner with 2 Med lasers.

I thought the Ultra AC5 and ER PPC would be my main damage dealers at range...

Thanks!!

Hey, I'm using this loadout on my dragon! It's extremelly effective as support mech.
Spoiler

So, you are doing it right.

What about suggestion, check this build from NoGutsNoGalacy crew member:

It slightly differs from your loadout: 2xSRM6 are good if you have good ping.

Edited by XSerjo, 20 April 2013 - 08:56 AM.

#3 Madman7

• Pip
  • Survivor
  • Survivor
  • 13 posts

Posted 20 April 2013 - 08:54 AM

Oh yea.. about Ping.. Im deployed overseas atm.. so I am at 230 ish. I can still play, its not to bad.