- - - - -

Weight Removal And Modules

10 replies to this topic

#1 xHDx

Rookie

• 2 posts

Posted 03 August 2013 - 07:20 AM

I'm new to this game and have played 3 matches only and have bought my first light weight Mech (Commando Com-1B). After this I went to buy a module to see how the customization works, but i ran into a weight problem's.

Basically I am unable to apply any upgrades because my Mech cannot handle the weight. I just want to know is there any ways to allow me to add more weight such as weapons, upgrades.

#2 Redshift2k5

Welcoming Committee

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Stone Cold
  • Stone Cold
  • 11,975 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland

Posted 03 August 2013 - 07:45 AM

All mechs have a maximum weight capacity.

There are some upgrades you can apply that will give you more weight to work with. These work by replacing your components with lighter replacements; the mech still never weighs more than it's maximum weight.
  • XL Engine (Extralight) takes up six additional critical slots (three in each side torso) and replaces a standard engine
  • Endo-steel structure takes up 14 critical slots (in any location) and gives back weight
  • Ferro-fibrous takes up 14 critical slots (in any location) and gives back weight (less effective than Endo Steel)
  • DHS (Double Heatsinks) replace your single 1-slot/1-ton heatsinks with 3-slot/1-ton heatsink which functions at 1.4 times the capacity(with additional heat sinking capacity for DHS within the engine)
None of these options are cheap.

you can also remove current items to change them for different items, for example removing a ton of ammunition allows you to add an additional heatsink, or viceversa. You can never add new equipment without first removing something (or applying one of the weight-saving upgrades listed above) to make weight available for a different item.

Here are the official video tutorials for MWO. Scroll down a bit and you'l see one of them is a mechlab training video.