How Do You Build Your Mechs?

97 replies to this topic

#1 PickledFoo

Rookie

• 5 posts

Posted 12 December 2013 - 01:49 PM

Hi all,

Like the title says, I'm curious about how you build your mechs. Do you start with an engine you like and build around it? Do you pick a weapon and make everything else fit? Do you listen to the dulcet tones of Sir Elton John while you put it all together?

I'm extremely interested to hear peoples' take on the process, as it's something I'm not very good at. Thanks for your time!

#2 Victor Morson

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Elite Founder
  • 6,370 posts
  • LocationAnder's Moon

Posted 12 December 2013 - 04:27 PM

First off, this is going to be the biggest help to you ever:
Smurfy's

This will let you design a 'mech on the net BEFORE you buy parts for it, to make sure you're on track.

-

Second, the best thing to do is to look at what the better players are running. There's a lot of guides for good and ill out there and it's rough to sort through them, but youtube anything from the Mercenary's Star alliance and you'll be fine - amazing collection of units there.

Once you have an idea what kind of role you want, then it's usually best to start with the frame - Endo (Ferro sometimes in addition), DHS, etc. Max the armor (You can always trim it back as needed) on any sections you plan to use (skip unused arms).

Finally, I load the weapons and engines in and toy with it until I get a balance I like. Again, this is why Smurfy's is far better than planning a 'mech in the MW:O mechlab: You aren't having to work with parts you own / buy parts.

--

Long story short once you've got a design you like on Smurfy's, you've got two options:

Click the Share link and post it up on the forums and see what people think (if you're unsure), maybe get recommendations;
Buy the 'mechs & parts and get building!