Yen-Lo-Wang, Still Relevant?

66 replies to this topic

#1 TG Sundown

Rookie

• 2 posts

Posted 11 July 2014 - 06:08 AM

So I have a YLW with a 300XL engine, ac20 2xML and AMS (I sacrificed left arm armor for the ams).

I find as of 6-7/2014 when I started playing again, I am getting my butt handed to me. If I do much besides hide behind a rock I am swamped my long range weapons and if I do manage to get in close I might get a shot or two off before I'm dead. I used to be able to at least get into the thick of things before dying. Has this game become a long range sniper fest or am I missing something?

What are the community thoughts on the best build for the YLW?

Thanks!

#2 Rear Admiral Tier 6

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • Bad Company
  • 1,633 posts

Posted 11 July 2014 - 06:41 AM

Fast mediums with AC20:s are still relevant,you just have to keep in cover until the brawl starts.
Kit Foxes and Adders are easy prey for fast IS mediums in general,couple of AC20 shells to face and down they go.

#3 Kyle Wright

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Fury
  • Fury
  • 663 posts

Posted 11 July 2014 - 06:55 AM

Yeah its still somewhat relevant, during primetime hours I wont run one in groups. However, in SOLO queues equip your mech with radar dep, seismic, and two strikes. Use the radar dep to break lrm locks, seismic always stop prior to looking around a corner, and use the strikes to get you out of a situation thats to big to handle.

Also OP, ditch the ams and up your left arm armor back up to max. You need that arm to torso twist and shield your boomstick.ont he right.

Posted Image

#4 JonahGrimm

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • 166 posts

Posted 11 July 2014 - 07:01 AM

... at the risk of sounding facetious, a ML/AC20 YLW melted my Stormcrow UAC20's face yesterday in dramatic fashion.

Yup, I'd say they're still relevant. :)

#5 The Basilisk

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Mercenary
  • The Mercenary
  • 3,270 posts