0 Head Armour?

51 replies to this topic

#1 RedDevil

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Slayer
  • The Slayer
  • 702 posts

Posted 11 February 2015 - 09:40 PM

Since I started playing this game, I don't think I've ever been hit in the head. With that being said, is having 0 head armour a viable tactic?

If not 0, then how low do you usually go?

#2 luigi256

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 1,082 posts
  • LocationUnited States

Posted 11 February 2015 - 09:45 PM

Zero head armor is ok to do but I would say to keep a some. I don't know how badly you need the points but unless it's a light mech I would rather shave a little leg armor off if need be. Just to play it safe.

Also note that the mech does have an effect on whether to have max head armor or not. You will have a much harder time hitting a Jaggermech or Awesome in the head then compared to a Centurion or Atlas even.

Normally my head armor stays at full armor but when I absolutely need it I don't have it below 10.

Edit: I should say cockpit of a mech because hitting a commando or atlas in the "head" will lead to center torso damage, which is pretty funny to me.

Edited by luigi256, 11 February 2015 - 10:00 PM.

#3 Dawnstealer

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Mercenary
  • Mercenary
  • 3,734 posts
  • LocationBlack Earth

Posted 11 February 2015 - 09:47 PM

If you never get by an arty, sure. Also, there are some guys out there that are REAL good at headshots. 18 armor, or at least 12, is not a terrible idea.

#4 ZenFool

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Survivor
  • 414 posts
  • LocationOrion's Bible Belt

Posted 11 February 2015 - 09:55 PM

Artillery and lrms both graze head. Skimping head armor will result in death. Oh wait, the OP is Jade Falcon. By all means try this zero head armor for a month and tell us how it works out. Also get all of your friends to do it, so we have a big enough metric.

#5 Tarogato

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Civil Servant
  • Civil Servant