World of Tanks cover system

16 replies to this topic

#1 Unonoctium

Rookie

• 2 posts

Posted 18 May 2012 - 01:54 AM

I started playing world of tanks and i'm really amazed by the cover system they use. I suggest the devs take a look and adopt what they think is good.

#2 Oderint dum Metuant

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 4,758 posts
  • LocationUnited Kingdom

Posted 18 May 2012 - 01:56 AM

View PostUnonoctium, on 18 May 2012 - 01:54 AM, said:

I started playing world of tanks and i'm really amazed by the cover system they use. I suggest the devs take a look and adopt what they think is good.

Invisible Mechs that are 2M away from me, no thanks.

#3 Tarellond

• PipPipPip
  • 92 posts
  • LocationEU (Czech Republic)

Posted 18 May 2012 - 02:14 AM

I used to play WoT a lot, more than 10k matches from beta until now.
Basically the game has two major weaknesses, matchmaking and spotting system. While matchmaking is somehow being dealt with, spotting is the worst thing in WoT. Tanks appearing and disappearing in a street 100m in front of you with nothing blocking the sight just happened too many times to depress the players.

EDIT: If by cover you by any chance meant hiding behind buildings and taking physical cover from shells, then i must say i didn't notice anything extra on that.

Edited by Tarellond, 18 May 2012 - 02:16 AM.

#4 LordKnightFandragon

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,239 posts

Posted 18 May 2012 - 02:15 AM

OMFG

IF MWO even THINKS of adopting WoT's cover, vision system I will personally send a TNT filled Overlord directly to their headquarters and BLOW IT OFF THE FACE OF EXISTANCE!!!!!!! WoTs vision system is BULLSHIT with a Capital Z....Tanks mysteriously POOF in the middle of open fields, you cant see a tank sitting in an open field or evne moving across opens fields. You have tanks that can drive right up on you and you no see them....one epic quote that someone on the WoT forums used...