- - - - -

Returning

25 replies to this topic

#1 Samarra

Rookie

• 3 posts

Posted 04 June 2015 - 10:14 AM

I purchased the founder pack and played during the beta but then I took a break and kind of forgot to come back ;). Anyway I just decided to start playing again and found I have 20,000mc to spend. I remember bouncing back and forth between my close range Jenner and a Lrm catapult before so I was thinking about buying a new light and maybe a heavy/assault. So far I'm thinking a raven l3 or a locust pb for the ecm. No clue on the big boys yet. Should I stick to a single mech type until I master one? Keep in mind I'm basically a newb at this point so any advice is welcome.

#2 Nightmare1

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 7,636 posts
  • Twitch: Link
  • LocationPeeking over your shoulder while eating your cookies.

Posted 04 June 2015 - 10:42 AM

Stick to a single Mech and horde that MC until you get a better feel for the changed game environment.

The Ravens are better Lights than the Locusts, although the Locusts are more fun (in my opinion) on account of how fast they move. Ravens also have better load-outs.

For Heavies, You might like the Thunderbolt. It's a very reliable chassis that has good quirks and diverse load-out options. The Cataphract is also a very good chassis as is the Jager. The Jager also has a variant that can be made into an LRM boat if you want to continue in that vein. LRMs are more difficult to use now due to the increased amount of ECM though, so you will want to make sure to equip a TAG laser.