11 replies to this topic

#1 Grimlox

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • Bad Company
  • 511 posts
  • LocationBC, Canada

Posted 03 December 2015 - 10:57 AM

As someone who has spent $500+ on several FTP games including this one I wanted to share my thoughts on the way PGI handles their bundles and early adopter benefits.

I'm sure there is some logic to creating a sense of urgency in people to spend money on bundles 5 or 6 months before they are released and the early adopter benefits certainly does that. What annoys me is that I, like many gamers, bounce between games and can easily take 6 month breaks from MWO. This is the nature of FTP non-subscription based games.

When I recently started playing MWO again I saw some ads for the Origins IIC bundles available and I was really intrigued to pick them up. However when I read about all the early adopter benefits that were only available until July I now feel like I am not getting a decent value if I purchase the pack today. I could understand if some minor incentives were put in place like cosmetic items to encourage people to buy packs early but when I miss out on significant cbills/unique mech variants/mech bays/modules/premium time and other such items I have a really hard time making myself drop the money on the bundles.

You walk a really fine line on value when you charge $80-$120USD for 4 sets of mechs but I've played along on numerous bundles in the past because I could justify the value where most logical people would shake their head. BUT when you take value away from the bundle by not buying it 6 months in advance and advertise those valuable things I can no longer get in the bundle I have to draw the line.

Here are some suggestions in order of preference to prevent people like me from closing my wallet.