Art

20 replies to this topic

#1 orion343

• Pip
  • Bridesmaid
  • 17 posts

Posted 14 January 2016 - 03:31 AM

Hiya folks,

Don't post much, but I've been playing MWO since the beta, and I'm loving it because I grew up on MechWarrior games, as I suspect many of you did. Professionally, I'm an Industrial Designer, which (sparing a lot of details--PM me if really curious) involves a ton of concept sketching. Usually for product development, but the skill set applies to concept art too, particularly things like vehicles and mecha.

Recently a few colleagues and I decided to challenge each other to produce some new mech/vehicle art every week, and we're starting to get more formal about it. This week I decided to pay homage to one of my favorite mechs, the Annihilator, and I sketched up a couple of concepts as to how the classic look might be adapted to the modern MWO art style. That big ball chest and the "cobra" head are iconic, and (IMHO) critical to the feel of the mech, but the details of their implementation are up in the air. And of course it's got to have room for two bigass LB-X's on each arm.

Only had time for a quick sketch this evening before our "deadline" (we try to have stuff done and "turned in" every Wednesday) but I think I'm going to keep going; there's a few more styles I'd like to try out, and I'd like to do a bigger/more detailed drawing of one of them at some point (something more like this one I did a few weeks ago. Doing a render on that guy now, may post it here separately later).

Posted Image