260 replies to this topic

#1 Gibson Ibanez

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Survivor
  • Survivor
  • 231 posts

Posted 17 May 2016 - 04:59 PM

Hello to everyone.

I am waiting for the new patches to install and just wanted to say hello and relate my first match against other players. I made it through the academy and loved it. I ran around the academy area and later the training grounds to get a basic layout of most of the maps there. It turns out my computer does not like the water areas on certain maps.

I recently started playing the boardgame after buying the intro box set and a couple of hexpacks. I saw the ads for MWO and had to try it. I am not that experienced in the boardgame, I played decades ago and bought it recently to introduce my kids to it. I like it and can see its influence in MWO.

My first match showed me that they both have a steeeeep learning curve. I was in the Battlemaster rent-a-mech (I used it because I have the bonus plastic mini with my new box set) the map was the mining collective. Someone on VOIP gave orders for the assaults. I typed, "I am new. I will follow" and so I did. I followed the other assaults until someone called out a flank and I turned and saw one of our lights playing peek-a-shoot with an Atlas. I went to help and misjudged the space while trying to peek out behind him and help with the Atlas. I accidentally blocked his retreat and heard, "DON'T STAND BEHIND ME YOU STUPID A-HOLE!" Here I thought, "I am getting jawed at by someone whose danglers have yet to feel the pull of gravity" I didn't have time to say "Sorry" because out stepped the Atlas and we were scrapping. My teammates pulled my tail out of the fire and one of them finished the Atlas. Someone said "Assaults push" I followed, targeted and fired at anything red.