Gauss Charge Removal

130 replies to this topic

#1 ExAstra

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • The Predator
  • The Predator
  • 131 posts

Posted 18 August 2016 - 02:34 PM

Currently downloading the PTS client. I just wanted to start a thread to discuss the Gauss Rifle specifically in regards to the changes with the Energy Draw system.

I am very optimistic about having no-charge Gauss rifles again. I pretty much stopped using them when the mechanic was implemented simply because: I'm not very good at it.

Anyone have strong feelings about this, one way or the other, before having played with it? Of course, I will head back and update after I've gotten my grubby fingers on it.

#2 FupDup

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 26,888 posts
  • LocationThe Keeper of Memes

Posted 18 August 2016 - 02:38 PM

I liked that the charge-up made the Gauss stand out from the crowd of other generic MWO weapons. :\

#3 Strelok7

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 321 posts

Posted 18 August 2016 - 02:42 PM

I would vote to leave the charging. It takes more skill, and it is the only weapon like that,

#4 kapusta11

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Little Helper
  • Little Helper
  • 3,854 posts

Posted 18 August 2016 - 02:49 PM

That 6.71 sec cooldown though. 4.5 dps with dual Gauss, yeah.

#5 RestosIII

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The 1 Percent
  • The 1 Percent
  • 7,322 posts
  • LocationDelios

Posted 18 August 2016 - 02:49 PM

Personally, I hated the charge up mechanic. They've nerfed poptarting enough that it'll never be the powerhouse it once was, and i believe they should remove the charge-up for good. #MakeShadowcatPrimesGreatAgain

#6 ExAstra

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • The Predator
  • The Predator
  • 131 posts

Posted 18 August 2016 - 02:58 PM

View Postkapusta11, on 18 August 2016 - 02:49 PM, said: