7 replies to this topic

#1 Luca M Pryde

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Mercenary
  • Mercenary
  • 209 posts

Posted 26 November 2016 - 02:52 AM

Hi guys,

This is a question for the software developers out there. I am a software engineering student that has worked a bit but is lacking skills in the backend (Java, C++ or node.js).

This year I may decide to whenever I get/have free time to begin development of random programming projects.

The question is what technologies should I use.

My existing work experience is in JavaScript (Angular 1, jQuery), HTML, CSS at a previous job.

I have learnt Java at University but I consider that elemental knowledge which is starting to fade a bit. I did read it at my previous job but did not write much of it or any of it to a level where I would be writing features or even test code.

I have recently been programming in C for a Kinetis K70 embedded chip at University and will most likely have to learn about Real Time Operating Systems in Unix next semester. I found understanding the chip was way harder than the actual programming.

Should I spend my time learning and building a website from scratch from the DB, backend (Java or C++) to the front end (Angular 2). This would mean I should learn Java and/or node.js to build the web-server.

OR

Should I develop a really basic game components/plugins in C++ and learn how to use Unreal engine 4 or Unity engine or Cryengine 4 or 5 and develop my C++ skills further this way.

Keep in mind I am a student and cannot afford anything pretty much.

I am also based in Australia and independent (I pay my own rent barely). Obviously can't move to a job until my degree finishes which I will probably next year. But that is highly risky and I need to save up money first before considering moving out of Australia. I could work in Japan as my wife is Japanese.

I have the latest IntelliJ IDEA license but that is as far as I am willing to go unless a modern engine has a cheap one off payment.