- - - - -

Run Machine Guns On The Pirates Bane (Or Any Small Mech)?

11 replies to this topic

#1 Blue Pheonix

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 229 posts

Posted 05 December 2016 - 05:18 PM

Should I equip machine guns on the Pirates Bane locust?

My feelings of machine guns in MWO are kinda.... meh.

In my experience with running them, they don't really do much even with exposed/non armored parts. I understandably don't expect them to do as much damage as even a small laser but when I ran the locust in testing grounds and exposed a few parts on a few mechs so that section/part was orange (exposed) and then I laid on that exposed part for long time with machine gun fire, it was.... underwhelming. The exposed part would have come down faster had I fired just one regular medium or small laser. Machine guns (especially only two) and its ammo seem like a waste of tonnage.

I must admit that I do not often run mechs with machine guns so I have little experience with them.

The locust has only 2 machine gun slots. Maybe MG are only reasonably effective run in larger groups/bigger mechs. Should I use the slots for machine guns or just stick with a bigger engine as speed is the lifeblood of any mech?

Edited by Blue Pheonix, 05 December 2016 - 05:22 PM.

#2 Bud Crue

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Rage
  • Rage
  • 9,883 posts
  • LocationOn the farm in central Minnesota

Posted 05 December 2016 - 05:36 PM

December road map states that there is some performance changes coming to both IS and clan machine guns so maybe they will suddenly be worthwhile (I doubt it but we won't know until at least the patch notes). In the meantime imho mgs on a locust a are a waste of space. To make em fit you eiher have to drop armor, engine or your energy weapons and losing any of those things in that mech is not a good idea...again just my opinion.

#3 Leone

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 2,693 posts
  • LocationOutworlds Alliance