Forced Tutorial After Hw Upgrading

8 replies to this topic

#1 Galenthor Kerensky

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • The Warden
  • The Warden
  • 157 posts

Posted 29 December 2016 - 01:25 PM

can anyone please explain to me why I am being forced to redo the tutorical stuff when I have been playing the game for six years? All I did was do some hardware upgrading, and logged into my acct this morning after doing the reinstall last night...

#2 General Solo

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • 3,625 posts

Posted 29 December 2016 - 03:03 PM

You didn't back up and restore your user profile for the game when your uninstalled and reinstalled the game

Its in the "Saved Games" folder in your Windows user profile folder. Example C:\YourUserName\SavedGames\MechwarriorOnline\Profiles

#3 Tesunie

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Seeker
  • The Seeker
  • 8,578 posts
  • LocationSeraphim HQ: Asuncion

Posted 30 December 2016 - 11:40 AM

Even then, you shouldn't be "forced" to. It should be asking you if you wish to do the tutorial, which you can then say no (and have the academy button flash for you on your main home screen of the game).

#4 General Solo

• Legendary Founder
  • 3,625 posts

Posted 30 December 2016 - 01:44 PM

No, I say force them to do the tutorial.

Being a complex game, big learning curve and all the forum talk about try hards and potatoes
I think allowing a total novice to skip the tutorial is a bad idea.

And because everyone that knows the game well, knows you can quit the tutorial as soon as you power up

Sure it's annoying, but I think necessary

Edited by OZHomerOZ, 30 December 2016 - 01:47 PM.

#5 Tesunie

• The Seeker
  • The Seeker
  • 8,578 posts

Posted 30 December 2016 - 02:03 PM

View PostOZHomerOZ, on 30 December 2016 - 01:44 PM, said:

No, I say force them to do the tutorial.

Being a complex game, big learning curve and all the forum talk about try hards and potatoes