#1 Natred

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Deadly
  • The Deadly
  • 716 posts
  • Twitch: Link
  • LocationWest Texas

Posted 29 December 2016 - 02:20 PM

Anyone got some tips for good ice ferret builds and info.

Best one I found is 5 medium pulse on the clan variant. Any advice or other builds that are effective would be appreciated.

#2 Hank Wildcarde

• PipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 37 posts

Posted 29 December 2016 - 02:37 PM

I love the IFR, but then I am a crazy light pilot most of the time...

I found 5 ERMLs, TC1 and 3 heat sinks worked amazingly well provided you corner poke and relocate frequently. Remember - you are a fast striker so don't hang about! Your job is to flank and deliver a surprising amount of damage at range - when they turn to look for you, vanish. You are quite tanky too so you should do well against lone lights.

5 SPLs on the IFR-D is also brilliant on CW scouting too.

On both builds I had first weapon group right arm + centre and second group left arm + centre. That way whichever group fired first got 3 shots off.

Good luck and hope you have fun with (IMO) one of the most underrated mechs out there!

Edited by Hank Wildcarde, 29 December 2016 - 02:38 PM.

#3 Natred

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Deadly
  • The Deadly
  • 716 posts
  • LocationWest Texas

Posted 30 December 2016 - 08:22 AM

I enjoy the ice ferret d with 5 medium pulse lasers. 5 is ghost heat though and it's runs hot. Strong firing in groups of 3-4.

#4 SuperFunkTron

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Slayer
  • The Slayer
  • 910 posts
  • LocationUSA

Posted 30 December 2016 - 08:42 AM

4 medium pulse with an srm 2 gets you slightly better heat management and turns you into an annoying brawler or close up peaker.

3 srm 4 with2 medium pulse is a cooler version that really gets the enemies uncomfortable. Absolutely love those 2 builds

#5 epikt

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Littlest Helper
  • Littlest Helper
  • 1,351 posts