I Give Up

6 replies to this topic

#1 Ahab Saline

Rookie

• Survivor
  • 3 posts

Posted 13 February 2017 - 01:07 PM

Well, I've had two days off to try this game, and I can't do it anymore. I had heard of MW:5 some years back, but thought it had been cancelled. About a month ago, I found out MWO existed and is what MW:5 kind of morphed into. So, for a few weeks I read up on it and read a lot of the forums, played around with the smurfy mechlab, etc, and finally got around to downloading it last week. Spent two days going through various training, and in retrospect I should have known something was wrong then. During the piloting test, I passed through the green smoke at 1:31 remaining four times before it would register any better than 1:29.15, but I chalked that up to bad server lag.
Starting the day before yesterday, I had a big chunk of off time to play, so I started playing for real. The game mechanic was worse than I thought, but not so bad as to put me off of playing one of my favorite franchises. Using mostly the Orion-IIC I got through the cadet period, and since my favorite was always a Daishi, and I always ran them AC-20 heavy (even waaay back when I had played the TT, using the custom rules), I got a Prime variant for the 30% cAC jam reduction and about two cUAC-20s.
And then the game promptly lost its mind.