Tier 3 To 2 Rating Question

33 replies to this topic

#1 Tomo Sukesada

• PipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 97 posts

Posted 25 April 2017 - 05:32 AM

I am an average pilot at best with a KDR of above 1 in mechs that work with my play style. I only quick play and am about to move from tier 3 to 2. Will it get significantly more coompetitive? I was just wondering what to expect.

Thanks!

#2 TercieI

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Littlest Helper
  • Littlest Helper
  • 8,147 posts
  • LocationThe Far Country

Posted 25 April 2017 - 05:43 AM

No. It's an XP bar. Even T1 is littered with not-even-average players.

#3 N a p e s

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The People's Hero
  • The People
  • 1,688 posts
  • LocationQuebec

Posted 25 April 2017 - 05:49 AM

View PostTercieI, on 25 April 2017 - 05:43 AM, said:

No. It's an XP bar. Even T1 is littered with not-even-average players.

Yup! And I am totally in that boat as a barely average player... yet here I am in topped out Tier 1.

#4 Tomo Sukesada

• PipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 97 posts

Posted 25 April 2017 - 05:59 AM

That's good, I won't be alone! I wonder if people create second accounts to level up new mechs? To breeze through, if you will.

#5 Willard Phule

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The 1 Percent
  • The 1 Percent
  • 3,920 posts
  • LocationThe Omega Company compound on Outreach

Posted 25 April 2017 - 06:07 AM

Awesome for you, man! That means you're about an hour or two from Tier 1.

Not that it matters. Tier means nothing except that you've played X number of matches. The "matchmaker" still throws T5s and T1s together, so put away any dream of ever being able to play in a match without new players. In fact, it's pretty much been that way since the beginning.

No, you shouldn't expect any sort of difference in the gameplay once you breach T2. You'll be playing with the same people on the same maps with the same builds as you did the match before.