It's The Quirks, Stupid... [playtest discussion]

37 replies to this topic

#1 The Jerol

• PipPipPip
  • Survivor
  • 59 posts
  • LocationNorthern California (Inner Sphere)

Posted 26 April 2017 - 09:02 PM

First, some disclaimers. I'm still a relative noob, but I know how the game works and how it plays. I admit to not studying the latest iteration of the Skill Tree system in any great detail. I was told not to buy and elite 3 variants of the chassis I like to play as it wouldn't be necessary in the "new" system. And, of course, that new system never came so I have had to spend the C-bills I was hoarding for the new system in order to buy and elite/master the mechs I want to play now. Fine. That's actually been fun.

The arguments going on in the General Discussion forum over module refunds and what not are very passionate, but seem to me to be completely off base. It seems that most mastered mechs currently in your garage will still be mastered in the new system. There is only one issue that should matter: IS mech quirk removal.

IS mechs are already woefully underpowered. For every IS variant I enjoy playing -- and there are many -- there is a Clan variant that's just better. Period. In every way. They're faster, do more damage, have better range, better survivability with the Clan XL engine. The only thing that keeps IS mechs even remotely competitive is the Quirk system.

So in a proposed system where every mech has access to 91 skill points, nerfing the already underpowered IS mechs by removing their quirks is a mind-boggling decision on PGI's part. I really want to know how PGI intends to restore some semblance of balance to an already unbalanced system that will clearly be made worse by quirk removal.

TJ

#2 Tesunie

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Seeker
  • The Seeker
  • 8,575 posts
  • LocationSeraphim HQ: Asuncion

Posted 26 April 2017 - 09:31 PM

View PostThe Jerol, on 26 April 2017 - 09:02 PM, said: