I Need Help Making A Deck...

28 replies to this topic

#1 sgtarkeus

• PipPip
  • Bad Company
  • 20 posts

Posted 24 May 2017 - 01:54 PM

I've been playing this game off and on for a few years now. I started with a Timberwolf Prime back in the fall 2014 (I think, it was a trial mech at the time) Liked it enough to buy it with my cadet bonus and a few games. Got some friends to play and they liked IS tech and I decided to sell my TBR-Prime for a CRB-27B. Never regretted it once. It turns out I really liked the IS tech and mechs. So fast forward to present, I've got four mechs to my name a CRB-27B, an ON1-K, a CP-11-A and I just picked up a LCT-1V last night.

My Crab is mastered, the other three are about halfway there, but I perform fairly well in QP dealing around an average of 450-500 damage a match in my ON1-K and sometimes my CP-11-A. In my crab, I can pull closer to 700 damage a match.

My mechs are built as follows:
CRB-27B: 3xERLL, 1xML, STD250
ON1-K: AC20, 2xSRM4, 4xML, STD300
CP-11-A: Gauss, 2xML, SRM4, LRM15, STD325
LCT-1V: 4xMG, ML, STD160 - I'm working on getting an XL190 and upgrading the ML to an MPL.

By my count, this puts me a 30 tons under max drop tonnage. Would it be better to keep my Locust benched for FP and grab something that is 50 tons?

I've tried various builds in my Cyclops and I can't quite decide if I like this or not. I'm terrible with the double (U)AC5 builds.

#2 UrbanTarget

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • 116 posts

Posted 24 May 2017 - 02:07 PM

rule of thumb is to always fill your tonnage unless you have specific mechs for a specific drop that merits lower tonnage.

If you can afford it, the IS standard seems to be 3 Heavies and a Medium, but faction play has a lot of facets you have to consider where it makes sense to have Range Decks, Brawley decks, decks with one or 2 lights in it (conquest and perhaps Domination)...