Looking For Advice On Pc Upgrade

16 replies to this topic

#1 GreyMatter51

• PipPip
  • Big Brother
  • Big Brother
  • 25 posts

Posted 20 August 2017 - 07:02 AM

I have been gaming on my Sager 8390-S laptop for a few years now and feel that it is time to upgrade my old PC to take advantage of the better cooling (been having issues with the laptop video cards overheating and shutting down).

Here is the current setup on the PC:
AMD 965BE
8GB RAM
ATI 6970
ASUS M4A79XTD EVO AM3
Cooler Master Silent Pro M700 Power Supply (worried about using this in the build since this build is almost 8 years old at this point and the power supply has many hours of use)

The other components I will use in the new build but these are the parts that I feel I need to replace.

With the case that I have (AMD version of the CoolerMaster HAF 932), I would like to stay with AMD for the processor and video card, so I have been looking at the Ryzen 7 1700 processor to base the build off of. My problems currently are sifting through the information on the motherboards since (from what I gather) there were some problems initially when the AM4 boards first came out. The other part that I am having difficulties sorting through are the video cards.

My budget is max $1200 but would like to keep it around $1000 if possible. I do have a dual monitor setup that I use but only game on 1 monitor. Eventually I may get a triple monitor setup but I am currently running at 1920x1080. I primarily game so I would not mind being able to run games such as MWO on max setting and do realize as newer games come out that eventually I will need to start stepping settings down to compensate.

I would like this build to be good/decent for about 4-5 years if possible (or be able to make minor upgrades to prolong the system). One last note, I have never really overclocked any of my PC's in the past so not sure if that is something that I need to look in to.