#1 Dragonscar

• PipPip
  • The Altruist
  • The Altruist
  • 24 posts
  • LocationArizona

Posted 10 July 2017 - 10:25 AM

Hello All,
First off let me say I am a newbie and I understand I am cannon fodder right now :-)
But, I was in ( 25 ) PUG games yesterday and my team(s) only managed ( 4 ) games that would be in 100+ range for the loot bag event

( 2 ) games our team did not even score ( 1 ) kill so it was 12 to 0 in favor of the enemy :-(

I am usually one of the first to die, my game time is usually 4 to 6 mins before I am gone,, I have a " right off the showroom floor " HBK-IIC-B I am using right now

I thought I would try something with missiles, but I do not seem to be doing much damage at this point

Maybe I will try to reconfigure it somehow, REALLY like the game ( LOVED all the mech games ), just trying to stay positive :-)

Only had ( 1 ) game where team mates were bitching at others about how bad they were, maybe they were talking to me??...Haha

#2 BaconTWOfourACTUAL

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Philanthropist
  • 282 posts
  • LocationSouth Carolina

Posted 10 July 2017 - 10:37 AM

Sure the loot bag event is cool... but I would honestly focus more on learning the basics of the game play. Know when to move, shoot, when to twist, targeting specific areas, heat management, fire groups, ammo rationing, mech builds, etc. Event rewards will come after.

It sounds fairly simple to do, but it does take a bit of practice. Unless you drop with a good group of players, PUGs will always be tough, because everyone is a stranger.

The key is to make sure your team communicates. Voice Comms shouldn't be silent in QP. Laugh, make jokes, BS with the teammates. It gets people talking, and relaxes tension, they will be more likely to operate as a team.

But yes, until you learn and perfect the fire and maneuver, you will be cannon fodder. (Don't get down though, there are games where I'll get 30 seconds into it before I'm 1 shot alpha'd)