- - - - -

The "new Guy" Smell...

32 replies to this topic

#1 AJBennett

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Philanthropist
  • Philanthropist
  • 165 posts
  • Location...the psychotic chihuahua chewing on your leg!

Posted 17 July 2017 - 05:54 AM

Hello everyone,

I'm new to MWO and just wanted to shout out to the community, I'm looking forward to either teaming with or playing against everyone. See you out there! Posted Image

#2 Koniving

Welcoming Committee

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Guide
  • The Guide
  • 23,384 posts

Posted 17 July 2017 - 06:33 AM

Mmm...
Fresh meat.

Huh? Oh, just made some steak.

Welcome to MWO, might see you sometime.

In the mean time, be sure to check out the academy for basic training (there are tiny glitches associated with 'switching mechs' in the academy and they can be solved by powering off [P] and powering on again [Also P]. They are primarily HUD-related.) The "Trial mechs" are [C]ommunity made versions of regular mechs that are given MWO-friendly loadouts. You can 'buy' them to own and tweak them but my personal advice is don't; you can get the regular mechs and just spruce them up yourself for without spending any money.

By the time you do 25 matches you should have enough to buy almost any mech in the game. But go a little longer before you do so you have plenty of money on the side to customize with, too. It's a learning process.

You can always check back here for advice; though I'll tell you right now the generic recommendation is the Hunchback (not the IIC versions) and the Huntsman. If you really don't know how you want to play, those two work wonders for figuring that out since they can do 'almost' anything. If you do know how you want to play by then, let us know and you'll get more specialized answers for your first 'Mech.