10 replies to this topic

#1 KAMUT

Rookie

• Mercenary Rank 3
  • Mercenary Rank 3
  • 6 posts
  • LocationAtlanta

Posted 01 August 2017 - 08:32 PM

Hello, this is my 3rd day playing this version of Mechwarrior, I used to play MW2,3,3 Pirates Moon, 4, 4, Black Knight, and 4- Mercenaries, Loved them all, as well as the MechCommander series cause I am a mad scientist. Love to experiment with builds. I am not interested in metas, just an understanding of some of the basic game mechanics.

like for example, the heat index, 2, I try to stay about 1.1, or roughly 50% + but a lot of times that means going to smaller equipment, I'm not much of a brawler, In fact I average 350 damage in faction mode between 4 mechs, so I know I suck. But I follow orders, listen to the experienced players, and score a few victories here and there, kill assists, and savior kills.

My style is poke and shoot, or LRM support at range, I like ppcs and ER lasers, getting the hang of rotary acs, love AC5 and LRM boats. just not sure what is average damage and what I can do to improve it without overheating too quick.

My favorite action is up against KCOM, although I know I am gonna get clobbered, I see what works what doesn't. but firing a pair of ac5 center mass into a rushing heavy or medium, I know I should be doing some red on that body, but I don't see much effect on them. I understand they are very well organized, trained, and probably got great mech load outs, but wow, I had to shake my head.

I love KCOM, don't know them personally, but when I see them pop up on the enemy side, everyone goes "Oh SH*t" I laugh to myself because I know from experience, any unit that provokes that reaction, epitomizes everything that make the battletech universe great.