N00B Question: What Could He Have Done?

12 replies to this topic

#1 Odd Thomas

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Survivor
  • 158 posts
  • LocationFlorida

Posted 04 September 2017 - 06:07 PM

Asking because i just put together an LRM boat for some fun.

Just ended a match on Frozen. Last guy on one team was an ECM light with LR lasers. Other team was a LRM MC-4 with 4 ML (I think, not sure).

Took forever to end..ECM light kept picking away and running. MC's couldn't get lock, had trouble chasing & finding him.

Team kept ripping into MC- "Learn to press R" (ECM), "just close in" (on a light twice his speed), "whadaya expect from an LRM assault", etc.

Thought it was entertaining until I realized I wouldn't know what to do either....

Again, noob here...how does one handle that situation?

#2 Champion of Khorne Lord of Blood

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Shredder
  • Shredder
  • 4,806 posts

Posted 04 September 2017 - 06:29 PM

The guy would have had to get into range with the ERMLs and focus on using those. Alternatively he should have brought along a build that could have more hope in such a situation by bringing an ERPPC or ERLL or something for long range to counter an ERLL ECM mech out of his range.

If hes still using that build then he needs to learn the map a bit better and use cover. Rather than chasing the light, he should move to a place in which he is safe from the enemy's poking and force the enemy to come to him. Frozen city has many places like this such as the cave on the map, the crashed dropship, the city, under the bridge in some places, and more.

#3 Odd Thomas

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Survivor
  • 158 posts
  • LocationFlorida

Posted 04 September 2017 - 07:12 PM

Good points.

Chasing was a mistake. MC should have nestled into a crevice or dropship and wait.

Will keep that in mind. TY.

Edited by Odd Thomas, 04 September 2017 - 07:12 PM.

#4 Trissila

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Survivor
  • 439 posts

Posted 05 September 2017 - 10:32 PM