15 replies to this topic

#1 Mozgoth

Rookie

• The Jaws
  • The Jaws
  • 5 posts

Posted 30 September 2017 - 05:26 PM

Hi. I'm new in the game.
I bought an atlas as7-s and i saw a lot of YouTube videos and all the guys always picks ac 20 on the ballistic hardpoint.
Why not a lb 20-c ac?

Pros:
-less Heat
-crit chance
-more range

Cons:
- 1 crit slot
- Spread

#2 Koniving

Welcoming Committee

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Guide
  • The Guide
  • 23,384 posts

Posted 30 September 2017 - 06:28 PM

View PostMozgoth, on 30 September 2017 - 05:26 PM, said:

Hi. I'm new in the game.
I bought an atlas as7-s and i saw a lot of YouTube videos and all the guys always picks ac 20 on the ballistic hardpoint.
Why not a lb 20-c ac?

Pros:
-less Heat
-crit chance
-more range

Cons:
- 1 crit slot
- Spread

LB20-C? You mean LB-20X (Battletech) or LBX-20 (MWO).

Two things.
One, the Inner Sphere versions of the LBX 2, 5 and 20 only just got released a month or two ago. So it is still new.

Two: The one crit slot is enough to make certain engines types completely unmountable. It cannot be mounted in an arm in its current form.

Personally... if there's more than one hardpoint, I usually pack in an LB-10X and an AC/5 together. For the Atlas S, I left my ballistic hardpoint completely empty and focused instead on heavier missile and energy weapons.

#3 Koniving

Welcoming Committee

• The Guide
  • The Guide
  • 23,384 posts

Posted 30 September 2017 - 06:39 PM

Also, welcome to MWO.