Clan Vs. Is, Sales, What Mechs Next, And Other Questions

8 replies to this topic

#1 Jonathan8883

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Shredder
  • Shredder
  • 708 posts

Posted 17 October 2017 - 06:08 PM

Rather than spamming up the forum, I decided to consolidate this into a portmanteau topic. I've been playing for 3-4 months, so I guess that still makes me new. There are several questions scattered throughout this post. Answer as you will.

Here's what I have now, and how each is configured:
[spoiler=Spoilered for Length]
In Actual Use
Arctic Cheetah, ECM variant
4 HMLs, 1 machine gun/0.5 tons ammo
It scouts, but mostly it backstabs. If the player I target is oblivious, I can open even an assault mech's rear in 1-2 salvos. My best match was a River City loss (ran out of time) where I racked up over 1,000 damage, 4+ kills, and also kept a Kodiak and one other mech distracted for 3 minutes. This is probably my favorite mech because it's so effective. I only get 2-3 alphas out before overheating. Typical match damage probably 200-400 unless I run afoul of enemy lights or an alert medium and simply get splattered before hitting 100 damage. Just finished a Domination loss with 700 damage inflicted.

Marauder IIC-D (ECM variant) - I just got this one
2x UAC20 (alternating fire to avoid ghost heat), 2 SSRM4 for lights & extra punch, 1 large pulse laser for some ranged damage, LAMS.
Unless I screw up my positioning, 500-800 damage per match. As long as I measure my AC20 fire, it takes a long time to overheat. I have 6 tons of ammo and don't run out unless it's a long match.

Hellbringer (ECM variant)
2 large pulse lasers, 3 HMLs, LAMS. I try to reserve the HMLs for sure shots, as using them drives my heat way up.

Mad Dog
2x LRM15, 4x LRM5 (different weapon groups), large pulse laser, machine gun
LRM boat, high mobility, good damage.

On the Shelf
Spyder (ECM variant)