Newbie Looking To Learn

8 replies to this topic

#1 Quetzu

Rookie

• Sergeant
  • Sergeant
  • 3 posts

Posted 17 November 2017 - 05:40 PM

Hi, I am new to the game, just got it about 5 days ago. I used to play the old Mechwarrior a long time ago, this looks incredibly better, but I am confused on some of the rating and how heat works when you are trying to tweek a mech. I used to play an Uziel and DFA and go off with the PPCs, but it's definately a bit harder here. Any ideas on where to start, and what to read? I'd be grateful for any suggestions, thank you.

#2 Darrious Quinn

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Defiant
  • The Defiant
  • 244 posts
  • LocationUS East Coast

Posted 17 November 2017 - 06:19 PM

Welcome to the game and good man asking for help. You'd be amazed how many folks don't and just go on with trail and error.

First off, most of us would strongly recommend reading and watching the pinned topics here in the New Player forums, its good stuff all around. Be aware that the difference between the older MechWarrior games and MWO is vast. Heat, weapon balance and skills are a huge convoluted balance issue that is always evolving. We'll come back to that all in a few.

Second. The community can be a little bi-polar. You'll see LOTS of different feedback ranging from helpful to toxic. Don't take anything personally. If you're in match and someone gets mouthy and belligerent, just shrug it off.

Third. Notice the Community tab along the top of the webpage. Take a look at some streamers on Twitch. Everyone has their own opinion about streamers, their worth or how good they are, but for a new guy? The information you can get off of watching them is priceless.

So... Uziels, PPCs and Heat.

Heat works different here in MWO then say, MW4. Older MW games were straight forward. Fire weapon, build heat, heatsinks dissipate. Here its a tad more complicated, you have Heat Generation, Heat Dissipation and Heat Threshold.