Assassin And Roughneck Recommendations?

10 replies to this topic

#1 IllCaesar

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 980 posts

Posted 20 December 2017 - 07:37 PM

I'm a returning player, been playing again for a little over a week. I've saved up twenty million C-Bills and am buying some of the mechs on sale. Among them decided on an Assassin and a Roughneck. I'm just not entirely sure what to make of any of them, though.

I was very happy to see a 40-ton medium mech go on sale. I bought a Cicada and it was just awful so I'm glad to see that the assassin is actually quite good. All of the assassin variants seem like they could be good so at the moment I'm thinking of going with the ASN-27 just because it comes with an XL and ECM and maybe picking up others in the future if I like that one.

As for the roughneck, I could use a little guidance because heavies are the only weight class I have little experience with. I have forty-something battlemechs and exactly four of them are heavies. Three of them are Thunderbolts from an old mech bundle, the other being a Catapult. I never found the Thunderbolts to be worthwhile, unfortunately. The roughneck has rewnewed my interest because it would fit very well in a FP drop deck, presuming I could actually pilot it well. The 2A currently has my attention, as it reminds me a lot of the Hunchback, my favourite medium weight class chassis, but I'm open to suggestions.

#2 Damnedtroll

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 676 posts
  • LocationFrog land of Quebec

Posted 20 December 2017 - 08:23 PM

My ASN-27 have 3 med laser and 2 srm6, full armor, 4 jj and biggest xl you can fit. Quite good mech.

For the roughneck, they got good high mount weapon emplacement. got one with twin rac2, 2 lmg and 1 mrm40. My build is good for pug, not much for FP.

Edited by Damnedtroll, 20 December 2017 - 08:30 PM.

#3 Darrious Quinn

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Defiant
  • The Defiant
  • 244 posts
  • LocationUS East Coast