Brawling Kodiak

6 replies to this topic

#1 Exeroxide

Rookie

• Bad Company
  • 1 posts

Posted 04 April 2018 - 10:27 AM

Hey vetrans im new to the game and was wondering what is a good build for brawling in a kodiak 1

Currently with my kodiak i stripped two med lasers and improved the overall cooling so i could apha strike but what is an optimal build for a brawling kodiak 1

#2 Seranov

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Death Wish
  • The Death Wish
  • 529 posts
  • LocationUSA

Posted 04 April 2018 - 04:11 PM

There really isn't one. It doesn't have enough ballistic or missile hardpoints to make use of most of its tonnage, and lasers are way too hot to really brawl with them.

I run LB20X + 2 ATM12 + Light Tag and a big engine in mine, but that's a weird build that isn't particularly effective. If you want, you can go big ballistic + MPLs or just standard HLL + ERML laser vomit, but neither will be particularly good on a huge, squishy, slow Assault with bad hitboxes and worse agility.

#3 Champion of Khorne Lord of Blood

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Shredder
  • Shredder
  • 4,806 posts

Posted 04 April 2018 - 05:49 PM

There is no optimal build for a brawling Kodiak-1. Any will be suboptimal due to the mech having terrible agility, low levels of torso yaw, and weapon combinations not optimal for brawls. Its pretty much lacking anything that would make it a brawler.

You could opt to use an LBX20 and 2 ATM12s like the person above suggests, its not really a brawler exactly since it still needs to keep 120m away from the enemy to work, but it hits hard in the 120-270m range without high heat generation. Another alternative is just to be a laser boat.