Hbk-Iic Build

3 replies to this topic

#1 firesyde424

Rookie

• 3 posts

Posted 30 May 2018 - 09:59 AM

Go easy on me, this is my first attempt at asking others how I can improve my build. =)

https://mwo.smurfy-n...84628d4f647100e

Edited by firesyde424, 30 May 2018 - 09:59 AM.

#2 WrathOfDeadguy

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Pest
  • The Pest
  • 1,951 posts

Posted 30 May 2018 - 10:40 AM

More armor is an absolute must. The HBK-IIC is a pretty squishy chassis, with hitboxes that are easily isolated; with so little torso armor, you will likely lose a section every time you take a serious hit.

A larger engine is also a good idea. The stock engine leaves you around the same top speed as assaults which have twice your armor and firepower- not an ideal situation to be in.

In order to make the changes while keeping your primary weapons, you will need to drop some ammo- but that's not so bad; you aren't likely to get through 4t of UAC20 and 3t of UAC10 with your current armor levels. 3t UAC20 / 2t UAC10 leaves you with 820 potential damage, but frees up crucial space for a larger engine and more armor.

Removing the lasers could also help- with two large UACs, they won't be fired often anyway. If you want to have them just as a backup, then consider downgrading them to ER smalls or heavy smalls.

The end result could look like this, or like this without the lasers. You could also carry dual UAC10s instead of the 10/20 combo, which allows you to keep the ERMLs without sacrificing anything else (this also saves a bit more tonnage because 10-class ACs are the most ammo-efficient at 200 damage per ton, so you can add more armor back).

There are several other things you could do with the HBK-IIC, as well:

Dual LB20X* \
Dual Gauss* - These two builds are effectively interchangeable, as they use the same engine and equipment.
3xUAC5
4xUAC2