Blood Asp Vs Fafnir

9 replies to this topic

#1 Gluten

• PipPip
  • 28 posts
  • LocationCanada

Posted 05 June 2018 - 07:08 AM

I started playing 2 months ago and I'm really enjoying myself still. I'd like to throw PGI a bone with real cash money.

I don't own any assault mechs at the moment and want to start piloting one.

My current go to mechs for IS are my CTF-0XP with Heavy Gauss and MPL, and JMS-S with 2x Gauss. Clan is EBJ with LPL and ML vomit. If that helps you help me.

Honestly the stock Fafnir 5 looks really fun to me. The build for the Blood Asp with Gauss, 2xLL and 6ML looks like a roided up combo of my JMS and EBJ.

#2 D34DMetal

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 134 posts
  • Locationin a Mad Cat duh...

Posted 05 June 2018 - 07:10 AM

I would pick the Fafnir because it can carry dual heavy gauss AND ECM all in one package. And if you're not that fond of heavy gauss you have plenty of room for other ballistic-centric builds.

#3 Roughneck45

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Handsome Devil
  • The Handsome Devil
  • 4,452 posts
  • LocationOutreach

Posted 05 June 2018 - 07:47 AM

They are both fun and good. Just have to decide if you'd prefer the range of standard guass or the punch of heavy. Either way, can't go wrong.

#4 Rogue Jedi

• Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 4,908 posts
  • LocationSuffolk, England

Posted 05 June 2018 - 12:42 PM

Fafnir will be more durable (the extra 10 tons + additional armor from quirks) and hasmore tonage to play with

Blood Asp being an omnimech means you have a lot more flexibility in hardpoints (you can fit the arms, torsos, legs or head from one varient on another to customise hardpoints), and (unless you sacrifice a lot of tonage for a 400 engine in the Fafnir) the Blood Asp is faster.

no Fafnir can mount Jumpjets but all Blood Asp can (thanks to the side torso omnipods from the BAS-A), both can carry ECM and comparable firepower.