- - - - -

Ams For Brawlers?

14 replies to this topic

#1 HammerofGrabthar

Rookie

• 3 posts

Posted 18 August 2018 - 08:38 AM

Tier 4 noob here.

I am wondering whether AMS has any use on a brawling mech or if it is just better to maximize short range damage?

Running a Roughneck 2A with HGR (I know AC/20 is prob better but I think HGR is really funny so I run it). I keep bouncing back and forth between putting an AMS or SRM in the left torso.

On the one hand, when I get a nice brawling map like the minning collective I love having the SRM, but, on the other hand, with AMS I feel like I can at least contribute something on a map like polar highlands.

Any thoughts or input is appreciated.

#2 Spheroid

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Veteran Founder
  • Veteran Founder
  • 5,060 posts
  • LocationSouthern Wisconsin

Posted 18 August 2018 - 09:20 AM

Post the build. There are simply too many variables to make a simple recommendation.

A single SRM is never worth it though. The choice would be between gauss ammo, an AMS, RL or changes to the engine/armor.

#3 Steel Raven

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 1,367 posts

Posted 18 August 2018 - 09:37 AM

While AMS will target SRMs, I don't have the numbers on how many missiles AMS will take out it CQC situation.

The biggest benefit to AMS right now with all the LRM/ATM love is that it will gun down long range missile while you are closing range for a brawl and allows you to still be effective part of the team while the enemy is out of your range.

That said, that ton may still be better used for armor, heat sink or ammo as your goal will be offense vs defense in most scenarios.

#4 JediPanther

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 4,066 posts
  • LocationLost in my C1

Posted 18 August 2018 - 07:07 PM