Need Help With 3D Model Generation

5 replies to this topic

#1 Ogre13

Rookie

• 2 posts

Posted 12 April 2019 - 06:22 AM

What I'm trying to do is to create a 3D model of a specific mech/loadout I play in MWO for my own personal use.

I'm new to Blender and am learning it, but am still a SUPER noob to this specific program. I've been able to convert the files into DAE objects and successfully import the model and texture files into Blender. The first layer is basically the poseable chassis, and the second layer is ALL the weapons and equipment available. I'm also able to get individual components to show in their correct location on the chassis, but my problem is that there are so many options that are all stacked on top of each other in the second layer, that it's almost impossible to even find the correct items to show on the chassis.

I've been looking into the file structure and notice that there's an xml file that shows the chassis hardpoints and all the weapon options available, and I'm wondering if a copy of that file can be edited to show ONLY the needed weapons on their correct hardpoints and then import the chassis that way. If it can, does anyone know how this is done?

If none of these are options, can anyone offer any guidance as to how to accomplish what I'm after?

Thanks!

#2 Karl Streiger

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Wrath
  • Wrath
  • 20,369 posts
  • LocationBlack Dot in a Sea of Blue

Posted 12 April 2019 - 07:19 AM

You can hide the weapons you don't need in the scene selection, (default view upper right corner) its an eye (2.79, monitor 2.8) on the editing pane.
When you have only your loadout visible you can move them into a group (2.79) or collection (2.8)
To select it in the 3D editor is indeed painful.

I'm curious wich mech and wich config

Edited by Karl Streiger, 12 April 2019 - 07:22 AM.

#3 ghost1e

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • CS 2023 Gold Champ
  • CS 2023 Gold Champ
  • 403 posts
  • Twitch: Link