86 replies to this topic

#1 mad kat

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Shredder
  • Shredder
  • 1,907 posts
  • LocationFracking the third toaster.

Posted 15 April 2019 - 02:01 PM

Hear me out on this but over the last week or so I've dusted off my alt account to see what life is like in the lower tiers and I have to say it's been a shock!

After years of playing in T1 and seeing matches crumbling with awful teams and sometimes a whole week can go by where it's nothing but getting stomped and some nights can't even win a single match. And judging by the forums here and elsewhere i'm far from the only person experiencing this. Seeing really bad builds, bad habits, splitting up and solo'ing etc etc it goes on.

But then I started playing from scratch in my alt account and pretty much every match has been progressive, steady and most importantly. Close. Sure I've seen some daft mistakes that once learnt wouldn't be forgotten in a hurry. But the team balance is positively magical in comparison and ttk is expectedly better.

Is it really time for a global tier reset?

Edited by mad kat, 16 April 2019 - 05:20 AM.

#2 Shanrak

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Liquid Metal
  • Liquid Metal
  • 200 posts

Posted 15 April 2019 - 02:31 PM

The root cause as always is that at least half the players in tier 1 does not belong. The matches in tier 5 are better balanced skill wise because neither side has any unless there are smurfs present. If you know what you are doing you can easily carry a team at that level. But for actual team work, accuracy, positioning you can get that occasionally in tier 1 if there are enough skilled players in the game. The bad builds habits etc people really don't belong in tier 1.

#3 justcallme A S H

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • CS 2020 Referee
  • CS 2020 Referee
  • 8,987 posts
  • LocationMelbourne, AU

Posted 15 April 2019 - 03:02 PM

*THIS IS NOT A STATE SHAME*