7 replies to this topic

#1 Mustang_11b35d

• Pip
  • The 1 Percent
  • The 1 Percent
  • 17 posts
  • LocationArizona

Posted 03 July 2019 - 04:30 PM

I started playing about two months ago after not playing for years (a little busy with actual wars) and I have read voraciously to get as much info as possible. I did not learn some critical lessons, however Though these things have been said in various forum posts on this and other sites, I would like to post them for other new players.

PRIMO: Ignore your pilot rating and KDR. I spent so much time worrying about how to tier up and get my KDR better, that I started to really stress myself out. It started being work. I almost quit, which is a shame, since I had already bought the MW5 prerelease. Forget your KDR. If you play for fun but die a lot, it doesn’t matter as long as you feel you accomplished your personal and team goals.

So what should your personal goals be? That’s very individual. Mine are: enjoy creating interesting mech builds, improve my tactical skills, and increase my understanding of the game, the other mechs, the other players, and the maps. Yours may be different. That’s OK – you do you.

Team goals are also a little different for each player. I’ve discovered that I really like playing scout, including all the traditional cavalry roles, especially scouting, screening, and harassing. Yes, I get in there and get some kills, but I really like doing that cav stuff. Problem is, it does not help your match score (which is heavily weighted toward damage dealt and kills) or your KDR. So, forget about those things. As long as the things you do contribute to your team, then it’s all good. Also, even when I'm scouting, once the battle is joined, I try to get back to the group as soon as possible to help keep lights off the tails of the big boys, and even help with a push.