Pesky Lights!

10 replies to this topic

#1 Sydira

Rookie

• The 1 Percent
  • 2 posts

Posted 24 August 2020 - 05:39 AM

Hey everyone! I'm new to the game and I had a question! I see a lot of light mechs harassing and killing the Assault mechs. The medium mechs try to chase them off but they haven't been great at it. So my question is this;

Is there a mech and build that would be best suited for this "Guard Dog" "Cat / Mouse" role?

I'd would love to know any thoughts and feedback! Thank you!

#2 LightningStorm

• PipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 60 posts
  • Locationİstanbul, Türkiye

Posted 24 August 2020 - 06:51 AM

Hi, welcome. Easiest way is staying with the pack, lights can easily get heavy and assault mechs that are going alone. Stay with the group and they can't approach easily. Second, ask for help from teammates using quick commands. If you especially want to hunt lights, then ofc best mechs suited for that are Medium mechs with streak srms. They'll flee from you like mad once you start hurling your missiles. Being a medium mech, you can follow them for a while , possibly enough before they can escape.

#3 letir

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bridesmaid
  • 217 posts

Posted 24 August 2020 - 07:38 AM

If you have decent aim, then IS mediums with MPL are best choice. Fast CD and laser accuracy making a short work of any light in close combat.

Streak boats are natural light enemies, but they aren't that useful against stealth lights.

Wolfhound WLF-2:
https://mech.nav-alp...#3caf23c4_WLF-2
Can catch up with almost any light 'Mech, have enough durability and firepower to beat most of them.

Trebuchet TBT-7M, superior siege engine:
https://mech.nav-alp...08a2666b_TBT-7M
Streak them to death in close combat, can use two med lasers instead of Beagle.

Vulcan VL-5T:
https://mech.nav-alp...#e6517dd1_VL-5T
It's almost like Wolfhound, more agility and jump jet against speed.

Crab CRB-27B:
https://mech.nav-alp...35b7c27_CRB-27B
Durable and great firepower.