#1 ApheX

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Veteran Founder
  • Veteran Founder
  • 154 posts
  • LocationBrighton, UK

Posted 20 January 2021 - 08:42 AM

Hello Mechwarriors,

It's been a few years since I've played MWO and I thought after such a long break that I'd rejoin. My skills have gone right out the window and the skill tree is kinda new to me, So i'm looking to get some help/advice on how I cam improve.

I normally run a Shadow Cat Prime with 2 ER-PPC's and ECM and a mix of other IS and Clan Heavy's. Seems NASCAR is a thing now on maps which gave a me a quick lesson in death counts.

I've been using the academy to help me out but some real pilot advice would be welcome. Maybe a unit would be nice enough to take on an old Merc?

#2 Dozer6

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Big Brother
  • Big Brother
  • 139 posts
  • LocationStripping lasers off my Archer to fit 4 more tons of LRM'S

Posted 21 January 2021 - 07:01 AM

Well my friend i can tell you this, i just started playing about a week ago and love the game.
Stay with your lance and stay with the group, don't go all yolo cowboy.
Hope for the best but expect the worst.
Keep your eyes peeled for the lights that are coming behind you, they are there...

#3 Elizander

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 7,540 posts
  • LocationPhilippines

Posted 21 January 2021 - 10:23 AM

Learning how the players from both teams move is a big part of the game, so you'll be better off sticking with the team and watching the mini-map often until you get a better feel of when the enemy is going to be where. You won't be able to solo snipe with your PPC Shadowcat if you don't know general player movement on each map/mode.

Go pick a heavy with decent range and alpha so you can focus on learning how things go in each match. There are some spawn points where you are pretty much screwed over if you're in a slow mech so learning those is important too.

#4 Cichol Balor

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The God