- - - - -

Question About Engine Types Inner Sphere

5 replies to this topic

#1 RUSTY RASTIL

• PipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 48 posts

Posted 01 February 2021 - 02:18 AM

Hello, I am new to this game so excuse me if this is dumb as hell to ponder. I have come to assume that any other engine than XL is just dumb to use. I came here after battletech and mw5 so i tried my hardest to play zombie builds like i woudl over there with standard engines, and some other builds with light engines, and in my experience at best i get 1-2 salvos out with whatever i have left after loosing just 1 side torso before finally being dead, or just overheat from heat spike and die while i am shut down. Even if I survive for longer i don't really want to live anymore with barely any guns left and penalties from light engine side torso loss. My observation is that it is simply better to have XL and kill enemies before they get me than bet on being tanky and outliving my oponent while being severly outgunned especially against clan mechs, and now i only cemented my beliefs by putting XL in every mech beside hunchback 4G for ac20 reasons and somehow landing in tier 1 after just 2 months in the game. So my question is am i right or did i miss something vital about standard/light engines?

#2 ImperialKnight

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 1,733 posts

Posted 01 February 2021 - 05:49 AM

it matters little in QP where players are unable to take advantage of tanks.

on an individual level, there are are sword and board mech builds that has a literal dead side meant to take damage and be blown and tank further using the damage transfer mechanic, while dealing damage with primarily FLD weapons

https://mech.nav-alp...dfed28b6_CN9-AL

https://mech.nav-alp...#c29a85bc_CN9-A