Cadet Feedback

6 replies to this topic

#1 GlyphKnightMax

Rookie

• The Stryker
  • The Stryker
  • 9 posts

Posted 24 February 2021 - 02:59 PM

There isn't a general feedback section, so we'll try here.

Hello! I'm still quite new to the game (started less than a month ago, I think), and I felt it would be wise to provide some feedback from a legally-not-Cadet's perspective. I would like to preface this by saying that most of what I have to talk about is minor feedback, as the game seems to mostly be in a good place - and the new roadmap and content gives me a lot of hope that I actually DIDN'T miss out on this incredible experience.

In order:

1. LRM/AMS
2. Ballistics/Energy
3. Clarity of text changes

1. LRM/AMS

A lot of people blow this issue out of proportion, I've seen. There's definitely still an issue here, and it needs to be addressed, but the situation seems very delicate and one wrong move could just make things worse.
First, the need for indirect fire is understandable. It also makes sense that allies can feed targeting data, so lock-on through terrain is possible. However, one thing that might help the current situation is to reduce or remove missile tracking on targets that are not directly in sight of the one firing the missiles.
ART4 makes missile grouping closer and improves tracking, so a change like this would mean you'd want to FORGO ART4 to splash missiles over cover. Conversely, taking ART4 would be better for more direct fire with line-of-sight.
Overall, I don't know EXACTLY the right answer, but whatever the change is, it should be minor and help mitigate the feeling of "I can't do anything but take cover, I can't return fire on the guy hitting me, and if I'm not fast I just lose." I DO think the current situation can be mostly mitigated by taking proper cover and excellent team coordination - but on maps where tall enough cover is scarce, or when queueing solo, those are not typically viable options.