7 replies to this topic

#1 mooneyboys

• PipPip
  • IS Exemplar
  • IS Exemplar
  • 28 posts
  • LocationFlorida, USA

Posted 14 December 2014 - 05:14 PM

HI there! I'm new to the whole MegaMek thing although i do know how the game and some of the other mechanics work. But I have some questions I hope you guys can solve for me.

I learned how to Port forward and got to play using LAN on different computers. If I wanted to bring friends in the same server, Do I give them the IP address that worked for using LAN or do i need a different IP address? (i would like this one answered first please)

I absolutely adore the Arrow IV artillery missile system. The problem is, i can't make the stupid thing work. When i do make it work, I love the stupid insane amounts of splash damage it does. I looked it up, and the Arrow IV weapon system is treated as a artillery attack. What does that mean? And why can't I fire the stupid thing via direct line of fire if the target is less than 6 tiles away? Is there a way to get around this? Because trying to hit things from 7-8 (9 if i turned on that extreme range thingy) isn't very fun. Or accurate.

Along that line of thinking, the only way i got the Arrow IV to work consistently is if i load it with the indirect fire ammunition and have someone tag for it. The question here is, why does it do no damage if it misses (Be it i couldn't tag something or the roll.....missed) I thought it did splash damage?

In another train of thought, in MegaMekLab, how do you give your mek appearances? For example I made a K2 catapult variant with 4 LPL instead of the PPC,ML,MG combo. I have it made already and it works as intended; for brawling. But it has a catapult C1 skin. How do i give it a K2 skin?

Well this is all I have so far. I'll post more when I think of them as time comes by. Thank you in advance!

#2 TheSilken

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,492 posts
  • LocationLost in The Warp

Posted 14 December 2014 - 06:02 PM