Calling All Quickdraw Enthusiasts

5 replies to this topic

#1 KaptinOrk

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Philanthropist
  • 136 posts

Posted 19 January 2022 - 08:57 AM

Hello all,

I'm a medium 'mech pilot that's interested in branching out into other weight classes and I've chosen the Quickdraw to be my entry level heavy 'mech. Since I'm new to the chassis, I'd like to ask the Quickdraw enthusiasts out there for piloting advice. Are there any quirks or tricks to the Quickdraw that I need to know about? What are your favorite builds that aren't the MRM60/80 IV-Four?

Looking at the variants, the QKD-4G looks the most appealing to me, it has solid cooldown quirks, it's the most agile and it has the same armor quirks as the IV-Four as of the December 2021 patch. Build wise, I'm thinking of equipping it with the largest XL engine the QKD-4G will take, a big MRM launcher and finally some medium lasers. In my mind, it would run around with it's fellow medium mechs and skirmish, flank and harass.

I'd also consider using the right side energy hardpoints on the QKD-4G for 3xLPLas or some kind of double or triple PPC type build. The other variants look interesting too, I'm already thinking of an SRM/MLas build for the QKD-4H and a 4xLLas build on the QKD-5k, but I'm open to suggestions for those variants as well. I will eventually get around to the IV-Four, it has a lower engine cap than the others, so it's less interesting.

Thoughts? Opinions? Is this a sensible step out of the medium class or am I wasting my time on a wannabe medium 'mech?

Thanks!

#2 ScrapIron Prime

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 4,743 posts
  • LocationSmack dab in the middle of Ohio

Posted 19 January 2022 - 12:13 PM