19 replies to this topic

#1 1Exitar1

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Knight Errant
  • Knight Errant
  • 253 posts
  • LocationSomewhere in the Milkyway Galaxy

Posted 06 February 2022 - 07:32 PM

I was wondering if you all could give me a suggestion for a mech to pilot. I mostly fly the MLX-G and love it! My only problem is that I would like to branch out. I bought a couple of assault and heavy mechs and found that I'm not good at all with sniping (I need new glasses) and I really dislike slow mechs. I guess piloting the Mist Lynx spoiled me for speed.

I'm hoping someone could suggest a mech with decent speed (75KPH or more) and fair agility. Jump jets are optional but make play more fun.

I just don't have the C-bills to try out all the different mechs, ya know what I mean?

Thanks!

#2 Escef

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 8,529 posts
  • Twitter: Link
  • Twitch: Link
  • LocationNew England

Posted 06 February 2022 - 08:14 PM

The Assassin 21 with a bunch of SRMs and maybe a ML will probably help you transition to bigger mechs. It's fast, packs some decent firepower, good hitboxes. But at 40 tons, it also is more of a fat light.

The CN9-A and CN9-AH are both good choices for a pocket heavy. Both can carry a 255XL with 3xSRM4 and a decent cannon. I recommend UAC10 and 2xML for the CN9-A, and a UAC20 on the AH is a little risky (because that's a lot of firepower to have offline when it jams) but when things go well it really hits hard.

For a swift, mobile heavy, you probably aren't going to do much better than the Summoner. Though the Cauldron Born and Timber Wolf tend to trump it in available tonnage and hardpoint placement, and the Hellbringer's ability to bring ECM to the party is really worth it. (The Timber Wolf can also bring ECM, but you need the right torso off the BH, and I don't think that's easily available right now. Alternatively, there's also the Sunspider, with ECM in the D's left torso.)