How To Choose A Mech, And Missile-Focused Builds

11 replies to this topic

#1 Sixela963

Rookie

• 1 posts

Posted 20 December 2022 - 05:28 PM

Hello everyone!

I started playing a few days ago, and I am having a blast. I already got myself a light and medium mech, and I am now looking into getting a heavy.

But honestly, it's really tough to take a pick. Decision paralysis is absolutely in play here, even just in the heavies there are so many frames with at least 5 variants each... a bit overwhelming tbh. And I already got burned on the system in taking the Spider-5D for a light, whose damage and staying power feel abysmal to me.

So... how do I actually choose a mech, and then a variant for a purpose?

In my case right now, I would like to build a missile focused heavy. I'm not even sure yet if I want it to be a brawler with SRM vomit or a LRM artillery mech.

I feel like I should look at the Catapult or the Timberworf, but I have no idea which variants, and I mostly base this idea on their cool look with double missile pods-->they must be built for missiles right? right?

Thanks to anyone that took the time to read, any advice would be greatly appreciated.

#2 CFC Conky

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Fire
  • Fire
  • 1,738 posts
  • LocationThe PSR basement.

Posted 20 December 2022 - 06:01 PM

Welcome to MWO Sixela963!

You are right, there are many variants of heavy mechs. Making a specific recommendation would be difficult but in general:

- Inner Sphere mechs are more tanks (durable), but are usually slower that Clan mechs in a given weight class.

- Clan mechs are more fragile but their weapons are lighter, have more range, but generate more heat.

- If you want to brawl, IS mechs might be a more effective choice. Also, IS LRMs fire in a single cluster whereas Clan LRMs fire in a stream.