174 replies to this topic

#1 Lupus Ignis

• Pip
  • The Boombox
  • The Boombox
  • 19 posts
  • LocationSaddle Brook, NJ, USA

Posted 12 August 2012 - 06:45 PM

So, I have been a fan of Liao for many years (since I started playing Battletech), and I've read through the threads here and am pretty damned confused and somewhat concerned.

On the one hand, there seems to be a pretty large group of people interested in making Liao an awesome MWO organization. There's a lot of enthusiastic people, and from what I gather, the ones from the "Goon Squad" are veteran video gamers who really enjoy MMOs.

On the other hand, the "Goon Squad" has a horrible reputation for basically screwing with games on a meta- level, pushing the lines of exploitation and justifying their actions as helping the game designers discover such flaws occasionally. A web search about Mittani reveals a lot of things that many, I think, would consider "not fun", essentially, griefing people mostly because they can.

So, what can I expect here? I make no particular judgments, I'm just looking to know if getting involved with this faction is going to be more of a headache than a fun experience. I like roleplaying in the BT universe, as far as that goes, and I like the canon but I'm not a grognard about it. (The squawwwwk thing makes me laugh...but I am pretty sure it's going to get pretty damn old eventually. It's the thematic way of pushing the boundaries past absurdity, in my opinion, but what do I know?)