Why Bother? Lights Dominate Completely!

73 replies to this topic

#1 Vizeroy

• Pip
  • Big Brother
  • 13 posts

Posted 20 January 2013 - 11:25 PM

More and more Lights are dominating the battlefield.

They move so fast that the slower mechs stand litterally no chance as the fast lights can run circles and dance around without fear of getting hit.

To make matters worse, most of them are equipped with ECM, making it very difficult to get or maintain a lock.

As it is right now, the team with most ECM lights win. That's the situation we're in.

Why even bother using those hard earned C-Bills to get a medium/heavy/assault mech?

Only viable medium mech around to counter the lights, is the Cicada because it also has these insane top speeds of +130 kph.

I admit, i'm a Light mech pilot myself.

I have an ECM Spider with a topspeed of 151,5 kph, 2 medium lasers and a tag.

When i feel like dishing out some unfair punishment, i crawl into my win-win bot:
ECM Commando, 139 kph, with 3 x SSRM's, 400 missiles and a TAG.

It's so easy to pilot that thing it feels like cheating.

Unless i get countered early on by another ECM Light, i almost always score around 6-7 kills (2-4 kill shots, rest as assists) and deal around 350-650 damage.

Where is the balance in that?

Is it really meant that lowly light mech should wreck more havoc that an Atlas or a Stalker? (not counting LRM boats).

I really would like to play with the other mechs and have tried most of them, but there really is no point in it as the lights are far far far too overpowered.

Please consider that the above are my personal points on this topic. Feel free to comment if you like.

#2 One Medic Army

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,985 posts
  • LocationBay Area, California

Posted 20 January 2013 - 11:26 PM

Because when you kill a light with a gauss/PPC/SRM-PUKE to the face, it's sooooooooo satisfying.