- - - - -

Merc House Unit Or Clan?

7 replies to this topic

#1 Carlos Vinson

• PipPip
  • 32 posts
  • LocationBeautiful Scenic S. MPLS

Posted 24 August 2014 - 12:40 PM

Ready to say good by to my lone wolf status, so the question is, which to join.

I am an old veteran of the TT game so am very familiar with the Great Houses, Major Merc Units & The Clans. What I am looking for is what are the Pluses and Minuses of joining a House army Merc unit or a Clan.
Do you need to use Clan Mechs if you join a Clan? Is it considered Bad Form to jump from (say) a House Army to a Merc unit..and the reverse?

I thank you in advance.

PS: What in the heck is a Ping? Is it good...bad or simply what it is to have a large or small ping number? I have a small ping number...should I have ping envy? :D

#2 Redshift2k5

Welcoming Committee

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Stone Cold
  • Stone Cold
  • 11,975 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland

Posted 24 August 2014 - 04:10 PM

Low ping is better. Ping is latency; how long it takes for your data to go from you to the server. high ping means it takes longer before a command you input to be received by the server and longer for the server's decision to get back to you. The higher the ping, the less in sync with the server you are.

Hiring is kept to the faction sections of the forum, and especially out of the new player help ( We don't want to see people using the help forum as a recruitment forum, it would get in the way of all that helping!). There is a longstanding thread for posting your availability to join a group known at the Hiring Hall or you can browse the Clan, IS faction, or merc corp sub forums.

There are no hard rules for clan mechs or inner sphere mechs (so far, community warfare may change that) so whether you use clan or IS mechs is not relevant right now. I play in a unit based on IS mercs, but currently we're free to play a mix of IS and Clan tech.

Edited by Redshift2k5, 24 August 2014 - 04:14 PM.

#3 Ertur