The End All Be All About Why Raven's Are Broken As A Mech

32 replies to this topic

#1 Gevurah

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Flame
  • The Flame
  • 500 posts

Posted 14 March 2013 - 06:32 AM

So yeah there's lots of raven tears out there - but are they necessarily invalid? I'm going to say this outright - I'm a spider pilot - and a damn good one. But I know for a fact fighting a raven is a losing proposition. I've even had to come up with deliberate methods on how to kill a raven and even that works only about 30% of the time with my custom raven killing build. No, I'm not going into details. Mind you, that's on generic raven pilots. This doesn't even count people who are actually GOOD with the thing.

So I'm not saying "nerf" the raven. I'm saying "FIX" the raven.

Broken hitboxes - hits don't register or register in bizarre places.
Broken streaks/SRMS (especially against smaller light mechs such as the commando and spider) - see this thread: http://mwomercs.com/...-inside/unread/
AMS is virtually worthless against streaks - Buffing AMS would effectively neutralize the overwhelming advantage ECM provides with streak-bearing mechs

The raven has a good loadout, is a good mech overall, and should be an excellent scout mech. One of my oldest friends has piloted a Raven exclusively in mw4 for nearly a decade and uses it as such. He also was about the only person I ever saw piloting one. Primarily because they weren't broke as **** cheese machines. Competent and capable mechs, sure, but not with power disproportionate to the class.

Fix the bugs on the raven. Fix the hitbox. Fix the streaks. Buff AMS. This will resolve 99% of the Q_Qing about Ravens while bringing it and other mechs of the class in line with what they should be.

Ever wonder why that death's knell you paid money for is a worthless piece of trash except when fighting atlases/etc? People paid money for a mech which is easily outclassed by a *BROKEN* free mech. Fix the stupid POS.

Thanks.