15 replies to this topic

#1 Golrar

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Survivor
  • Survivor
  • 359 posts
  • LocationChicago, IL

Posted 15 April 2014 - 01:47 AM

OK, so I am new to SSD hardware, but I couldn't pass up the deal on my new Crucial 240GB ($100!).

Anyway, I did all the tweaks for Win7 and getting the BIOS to run AHCI, but I didn't fresh install the OS or the other Apps, including MWO. I ghosted the drive from my WD 7200rpm platter drive. If I wiped it and reinstalled everything, would I see a perfomance boost in MWO or anything else, or did I do everything right?

Specs on my machine are a little older:

AMD Phenom II x6 1055T OCed to 3.2Ghz on air (42C max)
ASRock 970 Extreme 3 mobo
8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
EVGA Geforce 650ti 2GB
EVGA Supernova 750w modular PSU

I know I need to upgrade, but trying to save to move to Intel. I bumped the CPU to 3.2Ghz because I know MWO hates anything below 3.0Ghz, but I didn't want to go so high I had to by liquid cooling. I usually run things on DX9 straight medium with no AA. On most maps I start out with about 60fps, but in a brawl it drops down to 25-30fps at 1920x1080. I don't really want to drop my res, as I am pretty sure the GPU isn't the issue (or is it?).

If it is not the ghosted SSD, what is it? The CPU? GPU? I knwo I really need to upgrade, just thought I throw this out if anyone can help with some tips. I have not tried a customer user.cfg, but if it helps...

Edited by Golrar, 15 April 2014 - 01:47 AM.

#2 Smokeyjedi

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Liquid Metal
  • Liquid Metal
  • 1,040 posts
  • LocationCanada

Posted 15 April 2014 - 03:15 AM