3 replies to this topic

#1 JC Daxion

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Liquid Metal
  • Liquid Metal
  • 5,230 posts

Posted 18 April 2014 - 10:36 PM

MY one year anniversary is here

I just wanted to say, after reading a bunch of posts as of late, about the learning curve. I started playing almost a year ago now, and still think of myself as a newbie. why? because i have only played 6 different mechs, and mastered 3 different types.. (talk about a difference with master + 3 modules)

I must say it does get better, but even still have i have bad nights.. Like the last time we could earn a mech, it took me 28 matches to get 5 wins! a handfull where close, but the others like 16+ in a row were 12-0 or 12-2 wipes.. Typically i find if you are having a bad time, it is best to just take a break..

I also find that playing matches in the afternoon EST, like 2-5, or late night, 2-5 i get my best matches.. and ya end up playing with a lot of the same people even if you are PUG'n.

In the last year i know now own 23 mechs.. and bought some paint so i can at least look stylish.. (on sale of course)

My best advice is, pick a medium.. to start.. now with the 3, 3, 3, 3 limit coming soon, they will be even more valuable. the are fast enough to get out of a jam, and pack enough fire power to be deadly to the right target. they also teach you valuable piloting skills, like mastering the torso twist to spread damage a tip from knoving, and one of the many... (thanks Man for all your wonderful advice over my last year!)

Read the forums, watch when you die, watch many people when you die... call out targets when you die, and locations to help your team..Press R any time you have a mech in site... and never underestimate the power of target Range boost + BAP... really worth it's weight in gold on any mech!