- - - - -

The Tutorial Is Garbage

22 replies to this topic

#1 Latex

Rookie

• 2 posts

Posted 28 April 2014 - 12:02 PM

So I started playing just now, I did the tutorial and I figured I had all the controls down and I could play the game but no, I can't do anything still.

Nothing is explained!

How do I:

Lock on to targets
Use my weapons (how do missiles even work?)
Why can't I hurt other mechs but I die super easily?
How do I equip my mech?
Is there leveling?
Why does jump jets work sometimes but not other times?
Seriously, how do you kill other mechs this isn't explained at all!
Can you build your own mech?
Why do mechs disappear sometimes?
Why in third person mode does my mech vibrate and become hard to look at?
Why is this game so much more difficult than the previous mech warrior games?
How are you suppose to see people at night?
What is the easiest weapons?
Why does my SRMS not work?

These are some basic questions, some of which are super important, like locking on for example!

#2 Modo44

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • 3,559 posts

Posted 28 April 2014 - 12:11 PM

Yes, we know. The community created guides put PGI's efforts to shame. That is what you get in a beta, I suppose.

#3 AlmightyAeng

• Bad Company
  • Bad Company
  • 3,905 posts

Posted 28 April 2014 - 12:14 PM

Edit: Apparently you can only have 10 uses of the 'quote' function per post. Good to know. Some quotes Italicized.

View PostLatex, on 28 April 2014 - 12:02 PM, said:

Lock on to targets

Press R

Use my weapons (how do missiles even work?)
That's rather broad, since there are lots of weapons and 3 kinds of missiles. Are you using SSRM's, SRM's, or LRM's?

Why can't I hurt other mechs but I die super easily?

This is likely a result of either your playstyle, or your unfamiliarity with your weapons. What mech are you playing in?

How do I equip my mech?